Frequently Asked Questions
Q. How is “Lyssan” pronounced?
A. Whoever won the last game knows the correct pronunciation. If this doesn’t settle it, you must disagree about the pronunciation until a new winner has been found.
Q. Can a priest ready a spy in a distant province?
A. Nope. A priest can no more support a distant spy than a knight can kill enemy agents on the other side of the country. The key rules text is all in bold, right where we start talking about agents and what they do: Agents can only affect the province they occupy; an agent cannot act on an agent in a distant province without first moving there. (Page 13, top)
Q. Can two knights each spend one action to destroy a castle?
A. No. Each time you use an agent, that counts as a command. Each command has to finish before you can start the next command. So if you move a knight into a space with a castle and it still has one action left, it either finds a use for that action or the unspent action goes to waste when you start your next command. (Rules page 11, middle)
Breaking castles is hard. If you want to break a castle, you’ll need to either move in with overwhelming force, jump ahead in the turn order so that you can move in one turn and then attack before they can respond, or do something clever with influence cards.
Errata – First Printing Bugs
I seem to have two copies of the card “The Elsburg Syndicate” and “The Von Jaedts”
This is a correction to an issue where two cards both gave control to agents of the same color: The second copies of the cards are the replacement for the buggy ones, and you also have replacement counters. Click HERE for details.
How many provinces must I start away from the other players?
In the first printing, the rulebook and the set-up guide on the back of the Council of Orvanich player board disagree on this point. And neither is explicit on whether the province you’re in counts, or only the provinces between. And for bonus wrongness, the illustration shows an initial placement on Chern, which ISN’T an edge of the board. Let’s straighten this out. And what do we mean by “The edge of the board”, for that matter?
The edge of the board is any province that touches water or unnamed land. That is, starting from under the board name: Gilstein, Trental, Thurn, Grücke, Erber, Belcik, Prug, Dreji, Pryschyk, Brevd, Vorwald, Lusfurt, Liebesbrukke, Kaiharbad, Stännich, Maert, or Marville. Additionally, in a 4 player game, the 9 “Island” provinces are ALSO considered the edge of the board.
The reference board reading on how many spaces you need to start away from another player’s initial placement is correct if you only count the provinces between the two starting pieces, not the provinces they occupy. The rulebook says you must place one province further away, which is only correct if you also count the province you’re moving into for distance.
For example. If the first player places in Erber in a 4 player game, Belcik would be too close, as would Prug. But Dreji, with 2 spaces between, would be a legal placement. If it were a 3 player game, you would be expected to start at least one further away: Dreji would no longer be legal, but Pryschyk would.
The rulebook says each player starts with 2 castles, but the reference board says 2 Construction Sites. Which is correct?
The rulebook is correct: Each player starts with two full castles, no construction sites.
Do I have to re-hire an agent when I use a debt to clear the shame of its death?
No. The rulebook as printed says that the agent IS rehired. It should say the agent MAY BE re-hired, so that it’s optional.
This way, if a vassal card is stolen from you after you already have a dead agent of that vassal as shame, you can take a debt to absolve the shame of losing the vassal, without handing the player who just stole your vassal a free agent. Of course, you still can, if you choose. But it’s a rare circumstance to want to help the player who just took your vassal from you. Especially since you need to trust them not to immediately use it against you: Since you’re the player re-hiring the agent by taking a debt, it appears at your castle. You’re sure you trust the player who just stole from you?